Tampa Fire History
Built in 1911, this building served as headquarters for the Tampa Fire Department until 1974 when the building across the street was dedicated.
During its active service years, this building presided over the 63 year transformation from horse-drawn apparatus to diesel powered rescue and firefighting vehicles. Stables were removed and bay doors were enlarged for larger and larger vehicles. Some of the worst fires in Tampa’s history were fought by dedicated firefighters rushing out of this building.
After its active service years, the building was used as storage and office space for city programs. Realizing the importance of preserving Tampa’s fire service history, a group of citizens began a 10 year project of raising funds to restore the building and open the Museum. That the Museum is open today is a testament to the persistent hard work and determination of a handful of citizens and firefighters.